The 5 Offerings of Israel

Read 51.) Leviticus 1:1 thru 7:38. Before we advance God’s story, we want to spend time going thru The 613 Laws of Moses; The Law of The Lord. We began with those 2 places where The 10 Commandments were given, in Exodus 20 and Deuteronomy 5, and we last looked to where other laws were given in Exodus, from 20:22 thru 23:19. This brings us to Leviticus. Exodus chapters 25 thru 40 gave us all the plans and construction of the Tabernacle. With the first 7 chapters of Leviticus, we have the 5 different offerings to be made on the bronze altar there. If Leviticus is about any one thing, that would be holiness, and finds expression in 11:45, “…be holy, because I am holy.” Let us learn holiness.

Chapter 1 describes the Burnt Offering. Depending upon one’s wealth, it was to be either a bull, sheep or goat, dove or pigeon. It was to be male, and have no defects. The burnt offering was made for the purpose of atoning for one’s sin. Because there was one altar upon which these could be offered, and there were more than 600,000 adults males in Israel, the altar fire, and the burning of offerings were virtually non-stop! But there were 4 other offerings besides. Chapter 2 describes the Grain Offering. Grain was to be ground to a fine flour, mixed with oil, and incense added for a pleasing aroma. No yeast or honey was to be used. And salt would be added for seasoning. It could be baked, grilled or fried. While we are not told how much was to be brought, only one handful was thrown on the altar fire. The rest was kept for eating by the priests in the courtyard. As a firstfruit offering at the beginning of harvest, the grain was only to be crushed, not ground; and roasted, not baked, grilled or fried. Chapter 3 tells of the Fellowship Offering. It could be of the herd or flocks, male or female, but without defect. Chapter 4 details the Sin Offering. Note each place where we are told that it is only for unintentional sins. This was either for a priest, the nation, a tribal leader or any one Israelite. For the priest or nation, a bull was offered. If a leader, a male goat. But, for a common Israelite, a female goat or lamb, 2 doves or pigeons, or about 1/2 gallon of fine flour with no oil or incense, were sacrificed. In every instance the blood was sprinkled and poured, but the fat was burned. From 5:14 thru 5:19, we read of the Guilt Offering. This had to do with unintended violations related to holy things, such as a holiday, and was a perfect ram and quantity of silver. Chapter 6:1-7 includes further guilt offering instructions concerning intentional matters of sin against another only revolving around the 8th, 9th and 10th Commandments, as all violations of the first 7 Commandments were punishable by death! From 6:8 thru 13, we find, that indeed, the altar fire did not go out because of all the many burnt offerings for atonement! 6:24 thru 30 explains that the meat of sin offerings may be eaten by the priests in the courtyard. Concluding with chapter 7, fellowship offerings could be made for waving and for the giving of thanks to the Lord, along with bread that was made with yeast, for the priest. Aren’t you glad these are no longer required of us all anymore? It’s what the Book is all about!

Harold F Crowell


About ForeverKingdom

I am an evangelical Christian who has been a reader and a student of the Word of God for more than 4 decades. I want to share my discoveries from out of the Word of God for the edification of others.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, God, God's promises, Israel, Old Testament, Religion, Scripture, Spirituality, wisdom, word of god. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s